OddUnit
Air filter back to back dyno comparision Cooltext403300291

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

OddUnit
Air filter back to back dyno comparision Cooltext403300291
OddUnit
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Air filter back to back dyno comparision

+2
dirtytorque
Flusted
6 posters

Go down

Air filter back to back dyno comparision Empty Air filter back to back dyno comparision

Post by Flusted Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:57 am

Not sure if youve read on other forums but Jezzag60 from rado forum has dyno'd his car with different filters and logged results

This is on his 2l 16v g60

Well..... as i had an empty workshop and some time to play with my corrado and the dyno i thought i'd see if i could do some testing to put the old which induction kit debate to bed.
If i'm honest and you were using your car as a daily driver i would go for a paper element filter every time..... that said, if your fastidious about your maintainence and you want maximum performance..... well i'll let the figures do the talking.
All tests were performed in sucession, i did 2 or 3 runs per filter set up and the numbers posted are the best result for each filter. That said my car on our dyno is always super consistent and is usually within 1-2bhp on each setup. (Less than 1% variation which aint bad really!!!)

Standard Airbox, still with snorkle inlet and a new paper filter: 277.1bhp/7026rpm 244.0lbft/4502rpm
Standard airbox, snorkle removed and box cut away above cc: 287.4bhp/6954rpm 249.7lbft/4496rpm
SWG Twin inlet lid, cut away box bottom: 293.0bhp/7015rpm 251.1lbft/4477rpm
Jabbasport Single large cone filter and heat shield: 297.4bhp/7211rpm 250.0lbft/4704rpm
SWG Twin cone kit with heat shild: 303.2bhp/7153rpm 255.5lbft/4957rpm

I did actually log the boost level during the run and there is a 1.5psi differece between first and last kit, just goes to show the charger like to have a good supply of air to draw from.