OddUnit
Dry Sump Designs Cooltext403300291

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

OddUnit
Dry Sump Designs Cooltext403300291
OddUnit
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Dry Sump Designs

4 posters

Page 1 of 4 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Go down

Dry Sump Designs Empty Dry Sump Designs

Post by boost panda Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:36 am

So, I mocked up a VR sump gasket which ended up looking like this:

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

And then used it as a base for a *loose* model of the OEM pan:

And then I started playing with ideas:

(Sorry they're both upside down. It's the way I drew them silent)

The roundness of the pan helps channel the oil back to the scavenging points (on the flat face, not yet cut into model) and the flat edge should stop oil moving around too much whilst it is waiting to be drawn through the separator and then pure oil pumped back to the tank. I'm looking at approximately 2cc/rev coming off the crank in "drips" which as you can work out is about 10litres a minute at 5000rpm. So the pump willl be pushing the oil around way above that (a redline of 8000rpm would obviously be 16litres per min oil flow)

I've still got some more designs to come. A plain triangular one, triangle with a ditch so the oil can't run back out, W shape one, just for the sake of having a few designs really. I'm using the gasket template for the top edge so I can see fitment would be like. They all start from there.

I was working on the pump design but spur gears and calculation of involute curves was cooking my brain, so I've shifted to the pan for now. I will also be doing the air/oil separator and a basic oil tank which vents to atmosphere.

All thoughts, comments, questions welcome bounce
boost panda
boost panda
.:Bored:.

Number of posts : 307

Back to top Go down

Dry Sump Designs Empty Re: Dry Sump Designs

Post by boost panda Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:38 am